Owl pellets

A few weeks ago I went to this really cool store and it has cool bracelets, necklaces, t-shirts, toys, you name it. I’ve never seen anything bone related there expect on Halloween. The other day when I was there I found this kit called Owl Puke™. I thought it was weird but when I looked at it, it was a kit on dissecting owl pellets and contained actual owl pellets! I was so excited. If you don’t know what owl pellets are, its the skeleton of animals that the owl eats. Since the animal can’t digest a whole skeleton it has to come back up. Most kids in elementary school dissect them as a science project. The pellets are small, and grey in color and is mainly all fur, it’s not like human puke. The color varies though on what color rodent or small bird the owl ate.
The kit helped you identify what type of owl threw up its meal, and what it ate. When you get past the feeling of touching actual owl puke its really cool. Here’s what it looks like before you dissect it:

20121219-091604.jpg
And here’s what it looks like after (I took this picture, the one above is from google because I was excited to dissect it and forgot to take a picture)

20121219-091759.jpg
In the kit that I bought it came with a tray to put the bones that you find and I thought that was neat

20121219-091845.jpg
From what I found in my owl pellets, the owl ate many different rodents and a bird. I found 8 leg bones and that means 4 animals. There was only one skull which was disappointing since skulls are the most fun! It was also broken. There were a bunch of jaws as well. All together it was really cool and I haven’t written in a while, and its really cold here and bone hunting is getting harder!

Leave a Reply

